Contact Development Services

Development Services Phone Tree

Download the Development Services Phone Tree(PDF, 575KB).

Please call (650) 329-2496 and press option 1 for general questions regarding Building Permits or email buildingpermits@cityofpaloalto.org.

Call us at (650) 329-2496 and you will reach a phone tree to help you get to the specific division you need to get in contact with. The phones are answered from 7:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Quick Links

Project Coordination

The goal of the Project Coordination Team is to act as an advocate for the project and work collaboratively with all parties to provide information, resolve issues, and guide the permit through to completion. You may contact a Project Coordinator with questions about permitting, fees, forms and applications, and the development review process.

All permit applications will be assigned a Project Coordinator as a primary point-of-contact for both staff and customers from early assistance to permit close-out.  The Development Center includes representatives from each department, making it a true one-stop-shop for your projects. We’re here to safeguard the community by enforcing required local and state codes.

Please call (650) 329-2496 and press option 1 for general questions regarding Building Permits or email buildingpermits@cityofpaloalto.org.

Name Email Address Telephone
Ryan Oyama Ryan.Oyama@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2311
Henry Rafael Henry.Rafael@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2339
Diana Tamale diana.tamale@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2535
David Borjon David.Borjon@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2364
Orshi Corpos Orshi.Corpos@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2234

Building Plan Review

The Plan Check Team is responsible for review and approval of all permit applications to assure that proposed construction work meets the life safety, accessibility, sustainability, and structural safety requirements of local and state codes. We also review plumbing, electrical and mechanical, as well as photovoltaic systems and electric vehicle chargers. We are committed to providing timely and professional review of plans and documents for all applications submitted to the Development Services Department. You may contact a member of the Plan Check Team for questions regarding local and state code requirements.

Name Email Address Telephone
David Chung David.Chung@CityofPaloAlto.org  (650) 329-2135 
Madhavi Latha Madhavi.Latha@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2149
Carroll Woods Carroll.Woods@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2357

Building Inspection

The Building Inspection Team provides excellent customer service through the building inspection process by verifying minimum requirements to safeguard the public health, safety and general welfare and to provide safety to fire fighters and emergency responders during emergency operations.

Name  Email Address Telephone
Robert Dunbar Robert.Dunbar@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2109
Rhonda Parkhurst Rhonda.Parkhurst@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2658
Kyle Shea Kyle.Shea@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 617-3507
Korwyn Peck Korwyn.Peck@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2663
William Tierney William.Tierney@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2303