Holiday Closures

Public Safety Services

Public safety services such as patrol, fire, and dispatch work around the clock during holidays to ensure our community is safe and secure. Public safety services are available 24/7, 365 days a year. Records (front lobby) and Administration Offices are closed during holidays.

If you are experiencing an emergency, please call 9-1-1.

Emergency: 9-1-1 or 650-321-4433
24-hour Dispatch Center (non-emergency): 650-329-2413
Main Business Number (front desk): 650-329-2406 (Monday thru Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.)
After hours / weekends: 650-329-2413

Garbage, Recycling, and Compost Pickup

Collection will not occur on New Year's Day (January 1), Thanksgiving (4th Thursday in November) or Christmas (December 25). If your regular collection day falls on or after one of these holidays, your collection day will be moved to the next day. Friday collection will occur Saturday. For more information on curbside collection services, visit Greenwaste of Palo Alto.

Library Hours of Operation

For current hours and closures, please go here.

 

The City of Palo Alto observes the following list of holidays. Administrative offices and facilities will be closed.

Limited services will be available from Monday, December 27, 2021 through Thursday, December 30, 2021.

Holiday Date
Christmas Day* Saturday, December 25, 2021
New Year's Day Saturday, January 1, 2022
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022
President's Day Monday, February 21, 2022
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
Independence Day Monday, July 04, 2022
Labor Day Monday, September 05, 2022
Columbus Day Monday, October 10, 2022
Veterans Day Friday, November 11, 2022
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2022
Christmas Day* Sunday, December 25, 2022

Note: City offices are typically closed on observed holidays. If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the prior Friday and if it falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.