Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2015

Zero Waste Block Leader


Local Zero Waste 'Experts' To Answer Your Questions & Foster Neighborhood Efforts

Zero Waste Block Leaders are Zero Waste “experts” in your neighborhood, able to answer recycling and reuse questions; supply useful, concrete information on ways to reduce household waste; disseminate information about upcoming events, issues and offerings; and create neighborhood waste reduction projects.

Zero Waste Block Leaders
Name Neighborhood Email Party Pack Host
Nina Haletky  Arastradero Park Apartments nloveone*
Annette Puskarich     Barron Park annettepuskarich*  
Karen Saxena     Barron Park heypalermo* X
Vickie Martin Barron Square Condos martin108vw* X
Amie Neff Charleston Meadow amie.neff* X
Ute Engelke College Terrace utschnut*
Joyce Martha Community Center joycemartha* X
Margaret Row Duveneck/St. Francis margaretrow* X
Nancy Olson First United Methodist Church nso2431n*
Karen Sundback Greenmeadow sundback* XX
Walt Hays Greenmeadow wkhays*
Kathryn Mouton Los Arboles - Cork Oak Way zerowaste*
Alexi Miller Midtown miller.alexi* X
Annette Isaacson Midtown annetteisaacson* X
Patti Regehr Midtown patti* X
Clare & Cliff Smith  Midtown falaise*
David Page Midtown dalpage5*
Debbie Mytels  Midtown  dmytels* X
Rani (Prerana) Jayakumar Midtown promiserani* X
Caryll-Lynn Taylor Midtown Court midtownneighborsandfriends* X
Carla Matlin  Miranda Green c.matlin* X
Debra Van Duynhoven Old Palo Alto debra*
Sharon Elliot Ortega Court sharonelliot*
Laura Chiu  Palo Alto Catholic Parish lauraleechiu*
Herbert Fischgrund  Palo Verde herbalf*
Katie Graham Portola Valley katiegrah117*
Peter Skinner Professorville peter* X
Shannon McEntee Sheridan & Ash St shannonrmcentee* X
Nancy Peterson South of Midtown npetexyz*
Edie Keating South Palo Alto edie.keating100* X
Yoriko Kishimoto University South/Professorville ykishimoto*
Claire Elliott Ventura clairee44* X
Elizabeth Dougherty 2300 Block of Bryant Street paloaltoeditor*
Pamela Chesavage 3800 Block of Middlefield Road pamela* XXX

SPAM-FIGHTING TACTIC: You must change the * in the email address to @ in order to email a Zero Waste Block Leader.


Zero Waste Block Leader Commitment

  • Reach out to your community to let them know you are a resource for them
  • Answer recycling and reuse questions
  • Share information about the Zero Waste system and how it relates to every day life
  • Disseminate information about upcoming events, issues and offerings
  • Relay community concerns to the City
  • Foster neighborhood waste reduction projects (e.g., host a Zero Waste Party Pack - we'll help you!)
  • Attend meetings twice a year for program updates, training, exchange of best practices and networking with other Zero Waste Block Leaders


Program Goals

  • Increase community understanding of and engagement in Zero Waste practices
  • Increase waste reduction, waste diversion and other Zero Waste efforts
  • Improve the efficiency and efficacy of Zero Waste outreach and education
  • Leverage resources by using existing community networks to share information between neighbors


For more information or to become a Zero Waste Block Leader email or call (650) 496-5910. 

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2015