Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.
Last Updated: Dec 20, 2014

Zero Waste Block Leader

 

Local Zero Waste 'Experts' To Answer Your Questions & Foster Neighborhood Efforts

Zero Waste Block Leaders are neighborhood Zero Waste “experts” in your neighborhood, able to answer recycling and reuse questions; supply useful, concrete information on ways to reduce household waste; disseminate information about upcoming events, issues and offerings; and create neighborhood waste reduction projects.

Zero Waste Block Leaders
Name Neighborhood Email ZW Party Pack Host
Nina Haletky  Arastradero Park Apartments nloveone*yahoo.com X
Annette Puskarich     Barron Park annettepuskarich*yahoo.com  
Karen Saxena     Barron Park heypalermo*aol.com X
Amie Neff Charleston Meadow amie.neff*gmail.com X
Ute Engelke College Terrace utschnut*gmail.com
Joyce Martha Community Center joycemartha*gmail.com X
Margaret Row Duveneck/St. Francis margaretrow*comcast.net X
Nancy Olson First United Methodist Church nso2431n*aol.com
Karen Sundback Greenmeadow sundback*sbcglobal.net XX
Walt Hays Greenmeadow wkhays*igc.org
Alexi Miller Midtown miller.alexi*gmail.com X
Annette Isaacson Midtown annetteisaacson*comcast.net X
Patti Regehr Midtown patti*safekids.com X
Clare & Cliff Smith  Midtown falaise*clariff.net
Debbie Mytels  Midtown  dmytels*batnet.com X
Rani (Prerana) Jayakumar Midtown promiserani*gmail.com X
Caryll-Lynn Taylor Midtown Court midtownneighborsandfriends*gmail.com X
Carla Matlin  Miranda Green c.matlin*yahoo.com X
Debra Van Duynhoven Old Palo Alto debra*vansine.com
Laura Chiu  Palo Alto Catholic Parish lauraleechiu*gmail.com
Herbert Fischgrund  Palo Verde herbalf*pacbell.net
Katie Graham Portola Valley katiegrah117*yahoo.com
Peter Skinner Professorville peter*repaircafe-paloalto.org X
Shannon McEntee Sheridan & Ash St shannonrmcentee*gmail.com X
Edie Keating South Palo Alto edie.keating100*gmail.com
Yoriko Kishimoto University South/Professorville ykishimoto*earthlink.net
Claire Elliott Ventura clairee44*gmail.com X
Elizabeth Dougherty 2300 Block of Bryant Street paloaltoeditor*gmail.com
Pamela Chesavage 3800 Block of Middlefield Road pamela*chesavage.com X

SPAM-FIGHTING TACTIC: You must change the * in the email address to @ in order to email a Zero Waste Block Leader.



Zero Waste Block Leader Commitment

  • Reach out to your community to let them know you are a resource for them
  • Answer recycling and reuse questions
  • Share information about the Zero Waste system and how it relates to every day life
  • Disseminate information about upcoming events, issues and offerings
  • Relay community concerns to the City
  • Foster neighborhood waste reduction projects (e.g., host a Zero Waste Party Pack - we'll help you!)
  • Attend meetings twice a year for program updates, training, exchange of best practices and networking with other Zero Waste Block Leaders

 

Program Goals

  • Increase community understanding of and engagement in Zero Waste practices
  • Increase waste reduction, waste diversion and other Zero Waste efforts
  • Improve the efficiency and efficacy of Zero Waste outreach and education
  • Leverage resources by using existing community networks to share information between neighbors

 

For more information or to become a Zero Waste Block Leader email zerowaste@cityofpaloalto.org or call (650) 496-5910. 

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2014