Permitting and Plan Checks

     Quick Links

The Palo Alto Development Center is committed to exceptional customer service for building safety. As an effort to streamline the permitting process, the City with the guidance of Development Center Advisory Group, implemented a few improvements. Additional staffing, improved infrastructure and technology upgrades are just a few changes. A key improvement is a project management approach for Building Permit applications. All permit applications will be assigned a Project Coordinator as primary point-of-contact for both staff and customers from early assistance to permit close-out. We’ve expanded and remodeled the Development Center to accommodate representatives from each department making this a true one-stop-shop for your projects. We’re here to safeguard community by enforcing required standard codes.

PROJECT COORDINATION
The Project Coordination Team serves as the primary point-of-contact for homeowners, contractors and developers to facilitate the plan review process from permit submittal through the end of construction. The goal of the Project Coordination Team is to act as an advocate for the project and work collaboratively with all parties to provide information, resolve issues, and guide the permit through to completion. You may contact a Project Coordinator with questions about permitting, fees, forms and applications, and the development review process in the City of Palo Alto.

Ryan Oyama Ryan.Oyama@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2311
Henry Rafael     Henry.Rafael@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2339
Annie Rosendale Annie.Rosendale@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2234
Kyle Shea Kyle.Shea@cityofpaloalto.org      (650) 329-2364
Diana Tamale     Diana.Tamale@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2535

PLAN REVIEW
The Contract Plan Check Team is responsible for review and approval of all permit applications to assure that proposed construction work meets life safety, accessibility, sustainability, and structural safety requirements of the code. We also review plumbing, electrical and mechanical as well as photovoltaic systems and electric vehicle chargers. We are committed to providing timely and professional review of plans and documents for all applications submitted to the Development Services Department. You may contact a member of the Plan Check Team for questions regarding state and local code requirements. 

Contract Plan Review Staff

 

 

David Chung David.Chung@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2135
Joe Espinoza Joe.Espinoza@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2195
Madhavi Latha Madhavi.Latha@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2149
Keith Long Keith.Long@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2143
Emmanuel Mendoza Emmanuel.Mendoza@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 617-3110












INSPECTORS
The mission of the City of Palo Alto Building Inspection Services is to provide excellent customer service through the building inspection process by verifying minimum requirements to safeguard the public health, safety and general welfare through structural strength, means of egress, stability, access to persons with disabilities, sanitation, adequate lighting and ventilation, green building, and energy conservation; safety to life and property from fire and other hazards attributed to the built environment; and to provide safety to fire fighters and emergency responders during emergency operations. 

Inspection Staff

 

 

Bud Starmer Bud.Starmer@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2445
Robert Dunbar Robert.Dunbar@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2109
Rhonda Parkhurst Rhonda.Parkhurst@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2658
Robert Gray Robert.Gray@cityofpaloalto.org  (650) 329-2242
John Carr John.Carr@cityofpaloalto.org   (650) 329-2503
Korwyn Peck (contract) Korwyn.Peck@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2663
Robert Mantia (contract) Robert.Mantia@cityofpaloalto.org  (650) 617-3172
Todd Sylla (contract) Todd.Sylla@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2381
Jay Cheney (contract) Jay.Cheney@cityofpaloalto.org (650) 329-2357
William Tierney (contract) William.Tierney@CityofPaloAlto.org (650) 329-2303


Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017